If you’re looking for the most affordable coverage, here’s where you should begin:
Finding the right car insurance isn’t always easy. We get it. However, once you have a clear picture of how you use your vehicle and your priorities, it’s time to start browsing for coverage. When it comes to shopping for the cheapest car insurance in Utah, there are several factors to consider.
Coverage ultimately starts with you and your needs. Below you will find a selection of top insurance companies in the state based on their reasonable coverage plans, customer satisfaction, discounts and their claims processes.
Throughout this article, the car accident attorneys at The Advocates will help explain the easiest way to search for the cheapest car insurance in Utah and what type of coverage you are required to have by law in the Beehive State.
How to Find the Cheapest Car Insurance in Utah
One of the biggest contributors to auto insurance quotes in Utah greatly depends on the company you pick, with rates differing well over one thousand dollars.
Utah car insurance rates also depend on your location, the driver’s profile and other considerable factors. Let’s look at the cheapest coverage plans in Utah from Salt Lake City down to St. George.
Best Choices for Minimum Coverage Insurance in Utah
If you’re looking for the bare minimum that simply fulfills Utah’s state law requirements, you should start looking for a minimum coverage plan. This type of insurance policy in Utah includes liability insurance and personal injury protection, otherwise known as PIP, which helps pay for medical and hospital expenses regardless of who was at-fault for the accident.
The 3 best options for affordable minimum coverage in Utah include (information provided by a sample group of drivers on Value Penguin):
- Farm Bureau Mutual at $610 per year
- Progressive at $896 per year
- GEICO at $941 per year
While a minimum coverage plan in Utah can help pay for medical bills, it’s advised to purchase liability limits that approximate your net worth as well, so you’re fully covered in case you are the at-fault driver of an accident. It’s also important to note that depending on that number you might not be eligible for a minimum coverage policy.
(Photo courtesy by Value Penguin)
Cheapest Full-Coverage Car Insurance in Utah: Farm Bureau Mutual
Farm Bureau Mutual insurance is considered the most affordable full-coverage plan throughout the state. If you’re a Utah resident and need a cost-effective full-coverage policy, this is the route for you.
While the average annual cost for a full-coverage plan from Value Penguin’s sample group is $2,538, Farm Bureau only charges around about $1,630 each year. Even with the yearly $72 membership fee, Farm Bureau is still considerably cheaper than most other policies.
Progressive also offers one of the cheapest car insurance plans in Utah, averaging at about $1,882 annually with State Farm trailing at a distant third, charging about $2,360 per year. However, State Farm is notoriously known for being the largest insurance provider in the country with an A+ rating from the Better Business Bureau as well as a Superior A++ rating from A.M. Best. Reputation is something to consider when selecting the best plan for you.
Is Utah a No-Fault State?
One of the most important factors to consider when choosing your auto insurance policy is that Utah is a no-fault state. What this means is that all drivers need insurance to cover any losses they suffer from an accident, even if you weren’t the at-fault party.
If you were injured in an accident by another driver, you will need to file a claim with your insurance company no matter who the at-fault party is. Any minor injuries or property damage is covered by your own insurance.
However, if your injuries or property damage is severe enough, or reaches a certain threshold (the “tort threshold”), you can hire an experienced car accident lawyer in Utah to take your case to court.
Driving Without Insurance in Utah
Driving without insurance, no matter how skilled of a driver you are behind the wheel, is a risk you don’t want to take, especially in Utah. If you’re caught driving without car insurance in this state, you are committing a criminal offense, which can be punished in the following ways:
- Suspended driver’s license
- Suspended vehicle registration
- Impounded vehicle
- Minimum $400 fine on first offense
- Minimum $1,000 fine on subsequent offenses
Nearly 3 million people are injured in car accidents each year. Don’t drive without car insurance. Find a policy that suits you and your family best. In the event of an emergency, your auto insurance will be there to save the day.
Utah Car Accident Lawyers with The Advocates
If you or a loved one were recently injured by a negligent driver, we are here to help you. Being hurt in an accident can be traumatic for everyone involved. You don’t have to go through this difficult time alone.
The car accident lawyers with The Advocates are here to guide you through each step of building a strong accident claim. We make it our mission to help you on your road to recovery by retrieving maximum compensation for your injuries and losses. Call The Advocates today for a case evaluation at 801-326-0809 or chat with a live attorney right away.