A Rideshare Accident Attorney Can Help Your Case
Every day, thousands of people travel using rideshare services like Uber and Lyft. This is especially true in areas like Salt Lake City and the surrounding valley. Generally speaking, rideshare vehicles are a safe way to get around, especially when they serve to prevent intoxicated driving.
Unfortunately, as with any other type of motor vehicle, Ubers and Lyfts are not immune to accidents. And like any car crash, rideshare accidents can result in physical injuries, emotional anguish, and financial damages.
The personal injury attorneys with The Advocates can help. We have been serving Utah accident victims for more than 30 years, so we understand the challenges you are facing.
If you were injured by a negligent driver, you deserve an attorney who will put you and your needs first. Contact The Advocates today for a free consultation. We will discuss your injury claim and help you understand your legal options at no charge to you.
Head-on Car Crash
Side Impact Auto Accident
Side Impact Car Crash
Semi-Truck Auto Accident
Multiple Vehicle Collision
A Team of Legal Professionals Assigned to Your Case
For 30 years, the personal injury lawyers with The Advocates have helped accident victims in their recovery. We can help you:
- Understand the claims process
- Investigate your accident
- Build your case
- Negotiate with insurance adjusters
We only get paid if we win your case!
When Should I Hire a Utah Rideshare Accident Attorney?
No matter who is liable for your accident—whether it is the at-fault driver’s personal insurance or Lyft/Uber’s insurance company—it will likely not be easy to get the settlement you deserve. Insurance providers are notorious for trying to avoid offering fair compensation for damages.
The Utah Advocates are here for you. We will listen to your story, help determine your individual needs, and be by your side every step of the way through the claims process. We are available 24/7 for questions or concerns.
Your Advocate will build your case, negotiate with insurance providers, and take your case to court if necessary. We will do everything in our power to get you the recovery you deserve.
Contact The Advocates law firm today for a free case evaluation. You deserve an auto accident attorney who will put you and your loved ones first. You deserve an Advocate.
The Advocates Rideshare Accident Claim Process
Investigate the Accident
The first step The Advocates will take is investigating your accident. Our attorneys do this by obtaining a police report about your accident, examining any photos or videos of the crash scene, and speaking to any relevant witnesses. Once we have established liability, we will begin to build your injury claim.
Build Your Claim
Building your rideshare accident injury claim is one of the most time-consuming steps in the entire process. Our staff must wait until you have finished treatment for your injuries before we can compile a comprehensive medical record of the injuries you have suffered from your accident.
Negotiate a Settlement
Once you have finished receiving medical care and your records have been gathered, your attorney will send out a demand package to the at-fault party’s insurance. Afterwards, negotiations with your attorney will begin. If the other party refuses to make a fair offer, you have the option to file a suit.
Litigate If Necessary
Time-wise, litigation is the longest step in the claim process, possibly extending the life of your claim one or two years. If you do decide to file a lawsuit, be prepared to potentially appear before a judge and jury.
Rideshare Accident Statistics
Where are rideshare accidents most likely to occur?
- Metropolitan areas have the highest number of rideshare vehicles and see the largest number of accidents involving rideshare services.
- Rush hour, evenings, and weekends are the busiest times for rideshare drivers.
- Bars, clubs, and transportation hubs (such as airports or train stations) are hotspots for rideshare requests.
Common causes of rideshare accidents
- Distracted driving: Distracted driving is one of the leading causes of all car accidents. Because Uber and Lyft drivers must use their phones to navigate and accept ride requests, they may be more likely to become distracted while driving.
- Fatigue: Uber and Lyft drivers are paid based on the number of rides they complete and the distance they travel. They may feel pressured to work long hours, causing them to become tired.
- Aggressive driving: Road rage is a massive problem on US roads.
- Speeding: Speeding is a major cause of accidents. Additionally, accidents with speeding as a factor are more likely to lead to serious injuries or death.
- Impaired driving: Car accidents are far more likely to happen when one or more motorists is under the influence.
Common rideshare accident injuries
Car accidents can lead to minor injuries, like scrapes and bruises, as well as life-altering harm, such as head and spinal cord injuries. Some of the most common auto accident injuries include:
- Traumatic brain injuries (TBIs)
- Neck and back injuries
- Internal organ damage
- Broken bones
- Muscle strains and sprains
- Lacerations and bruising
Rideshare Accident FAQs
What is required to become a rideshare driver in Utah?
Whether a rideshare driver is working in Ogden, Salt Lake City, or St. George will determine the exact requirements they must meet in order to work for a rideshare company. Below are the general requirements for Utah rideshare drivers:
- At least 25 years old
- Possession of a valid Utah license
- Ability to pass a background check
- Proof of personal auto insurance coverage and Utah registration
- Smartphone that can run the rideshare app
What kinds of cars can be used as rideshare vehicles?
Because rideshare drivers are considered independent contractors, they often use their own vehicles for transporting passengers. Many makes and models of cars can be rideshare vehicles, but in Utah, they must meet these minimum requirements:
- 15 years old or newer
- 4 doors
- 5-8 seats, including the driver’s
- Good condition with no cosmetic damage
- No commercial branding
Exact requirements differ between rideshare platforms and cities. Prospective drivers should check the website of the rideshare service they desire to drive with to find the requirements that pertain to them.
Are rideshare drivers covered by insurance?
The short answer here is yes. Things can quickly become complicated though. How much coverage applies to your accident will depend on who was liable, the severity of your injuries, and whether the rideshare driver was working at the time of the crash.
If the driver of another vehicle (not the rideshare driver) was responsible for your accident, that driver’s insurance policy will apply.
If the Lyft/Uber driver was at fault, either the driver’s or the rideshare company’s liability insurance (or both) should cover your damages. Who is liable depends on the circumstances surrounding your accident.
The rideshare app was offline at the time of the accident:
The at-fault party’s personal insurance policy should cover your damages.
The crash happened when the rideshare app was on and the driver was available to accept a request:
Both Uber and Lyft provide the following coverage in the state of Utah:
- $50,000/person for bodily injury
- $100,000/accident for bodily injury
- $25,000/accident for property damage
These insurance policies only apply to third-party damages and only take effect when the at-fault driver’s insurance policy does not apply.
The rideshare app was on and the driver was en route to fulfill a request at the time of the accident:
In this instance, both rideshare companies maintain the following insurance policies:
- $1,000,000 in third-party liability coverage
- Some first-party coverage, depending on the company
Regardless of who was at-fault in your accident, their insurance company isn’t likely to make it easy for you to receive maximum compensation for your damages. A Utah Uber/Lyft accident attorney can help you fight for the settlement you deserve.
What should I do after a rideshare accident?
After any type of accident, it is important to take the following steps in order to protect yourself and your right to a claim:
- Move out of traffic if possible
- Check for injuries and seek medical attention for serious injuries
- File a police report
- Exchange contact and insurance information with all drivers involved in the accident
- Exchange contact information from witnesses
- Take pictures and videos of the scene
- Report the accident to your own insurance company
- Seek medical care, even if you do not believe you were injured
- Consider contacting a Utah rideshare accident lawyer with The Advocates
What damages can I seek after my rideshare accident?
Every personal injury case is different. There is no one-size-fits-all answer to this question.
Some common damages sought in rideshare accident cases include:
- Medical expenses
- Lost wages
- Loss of future earnings
- Pain and suffering
- Funeral and burial expenses
A Utah Uber accident lawyer can help you understand which damages you may be able to include in your accident claim.