The Other Driver Has No Insurance, What Do I Do Now?
If you have been injured in an accident, the person at-fault for the accident should provide compensation for your vehicle damage and your medical care if you are injured. Although, Utah law requires that all drivers carry liability insurance, about ten percent of Utah drivers are still. If you find yourself a victim of such an accident, know that you are not without remedies.
1. Report the accident.
Every single time you are in an accident involving a motor vehicle or motorcycle, report the accident to the police. This step is important to protect you from undue liability and to provide evidence of what happened during the accident.
2. Call your insurance company.
Anytime you are in a vehicle accident, whether it was your fault or not, you must inform your insurance company. You may not want to, and if the damage is minimal you may not have to, but if your vehicle is severely damaged or you are injured, report the accident as soon as possible.
a. Uninsured Motorist Coverage: If the other party does not have liability insurance, you can use your own auto insurance policy to cover the costs of repairing or replacing your vehicle so long as your insurance policy includes uninsured motorist coverage. Utah law does not require that you carry such coverage. Utah Code Ann. §31A-22-302
b. PIP: Utah law does require that each auto insurance policy include personal injury protection. PIP is designed to cover up to $3,000.00 in medical benefits no matter who was at fault for the accident.
3. Call an attorney.
If you find yourself seriously injured and incurring much more than $3,000.00 in medical bills not to mention the amount of money you are losing in property damages, missed work, and lost the quality of life, you may be able to ask for damages from the other party directly. For that, there is going to be litigation.
Or perhaps there is a solution that is not obvious to you. Hiring an attorney can help. Your attorney will know where to look for money to pay your bills and parties that may be responsible for your accident.
If you cannot cover your expenses on your own, it never hurts to contact an attorney. Attorneys from the advocates are available 24-7 for a free consultation. The attorneys can tell you whether or not you have a case, what it may be worth, and how to collect your damages.