Everyone is aware of how serious the implications of a DUI charge can be. Just a single DUI conviction can potentially ruin many aspects of your life, including your career, social status, and overall reputation. Generally, most DUIs will be charged as a misdemeanor, meaning you could face up to almost a year in jail; but how do DUI laws vary? What about Tennessee DUI law is unique? How do these possible punishments compare to your state?
- Fines up to $1,500
- License revocation for up to one year
- Jail time from anywhere between 48 hours to 11 months and 29 days
- Community service
- Mandatory ignition interlock device
- Vehicle forfeiture
- Mandatory rehabilitation program
Expungement. It’s important to also note that, unlike some other states, a DUI conviction in Tennessee is not expungable from your record. This means that one DUI conviction will remain on your criminal record forever. In some states, like Kentucky, a first-offense DUI can be expunged after a certain amount of time, such as three or five years, depending on the laws of that state.
Implied Consent Law. In Tennessee, all licensed drivers have agreed to the “Implied Consent Law.” That is to say if you refuse to submit to a blood alcohol test when requested by a police officer, you can be charged for violation of this law, in addition to being charged with a DUI. On your first violation of implied consent, your license will be suspended for an entire year. For a second offense, the license will be suspended for two years. However, if a car accident occurs involving a fatality and you refuse a blood alcohol test, you may have your license revoked for five years.
Underage DUI. The state of Tennessee (along with most others) is incredibly strict with underage drinking and driving. If you are under the legal drinking age and are found to have a BAC level of 0.02 percent while driving, the officer can arrest you for a DUI. So even though you are not technically at or above the legal limit, you are underage and the presence of alcohol alone constitutes a DUI. Minors convicted of a DUI often receive sentences of a revoked license for one year, up to a $250 fine, and mandatory community service hours. In Utah if you are under the age of 21 and found to have a BAC above 00.00%, the driver can be cited for a DUI. Other than the DUI charge, an underage drinker can also be charged with a number of other violations, such as minor in possession, and soliciting of alcohol.
Submitted by Collins Law Firm located in Nashville, Tennessse.