Table of Content
What Kind of Liability Coverage Does Utah Require?
Every state but New Hampshire requires that all drivers carry some form of car insurance to at least cover the liability incurred if the driver causes an accident. Utah’s minimum liability coverage includes coverage for property damage, bodily injury, and personal injury protection. Utah Code Ann. §31A-22-302.
Always know that you can purchase more insurance coverage from your insurance company. In fact, it is recommended that you carry more than these minimum amounts because personal injury damages could easily exceed these numbers.
Utah law requires that all drivers carry insurance to cover the cost of any property damage they cause. The minimum coverage amount is $15,000.00. Utah Code Ann. §31A-22-304.
Drivers must carry at least $25,000.00 to cover expenses related to bodily injury or death for one person. Utah Code Ann. $31A-22-304. If more than one person is injured in the accident, Utah requires a minimum policy limit of $65,000.00.
Personal Injury Protection
Utah law does not require that all drivers carry uninsured motorist coverage, but it does require that all drivers carry personal injury protection. Personal Injury Protection (PIP) is meant to cover accident-related medical expenses no matter who was at fault for the accident.
Was this helpful?